2. Structure

2.3 The Automotive SPICE levels

Two different types of levels

The original and still almost exclusively used type of level is the “Capability Level”. The Capability Level expresses the level of maturity of a single process. “Organizational Maturity Levels” express the maturity of an organization.

Meaning of Capability Levels

0 – Incomplete: A process is either not implemented or not does not fulfill the purpose described in the process.
1 – Performed: A process is in place and serves the purpose described in the process. This is accomplished by implementing the base practices and work products of the process.
2 – Managed: A process is not only performed, but its execution is controlled (planning process activities, tracking, corrective actions, etc.) and its work products are managed (quality assurance and configuration management of its work products).
3 – Established: There is a standard process which is adjusted by tailoring to its use in the project or in the organization. The effectiveness and suitability of the process is analyzed and assessed using suitable methods.
4 – Predictable: The organization knows the relationship between process and product metrics collected during project conduct and the planned quantitative result parameters of the project (eg., regarding quality, budget or deadlines). By appropriate process control, these result parameters can be achieved within statistical limits. The metrics should support the achievement of the business objectives.
5 – Optimizing: The process is continuously optimized due to proposed changes, innovations and statistical analyzes of data from the process execution.


Automotive SPICE Capability Levels
Automotive SPICE Capability Levels

Meaning of Organizational Maturity Levels (OML)

Organizational Maturity Levels (OML) are meant to measure process maturity of an organizational unit and are rarely requested by an OEM. This is in contrast to the typical supplier assessments which are mostly focused on a single project. In OMLs the view is extended to the organization with a large number of projects. The motivation is that the organization establishes the projects in a position to effectively apply processes. Using organizational assessments you can assess the fundamental “quality capability” and maturity of an organization. The foundation is provided by ISO/IEC 33004 which specifies requirements towards Maturity Models which are needed to determine an Organizational Maturity Level. An OML relates to a set of processes as shown on the picture. In an assessment several process instances are investigated. See chapter 4 for more information on instances

Classes and Categories

Classes 1-3 define how thoroughly the investigation is performed in an assessment. This comprises requirements to the number of projects of the organization that need to be evaluated at minimum and what evidences need to be collected. Class 1 represents the highest requirements. The categories A-D define the independence of the assessment team of the organization to be assessed. Category A represents the highest independence: both the Lead Assessor and the co-assessors must come from the outside. Assessment classes require a particular level of independence as defined in the categories. See ISO/IEC 33002 for details. See chapter 5.5 for more details.


Processes defined by intacs for an Organizational Maturity Assessment (OMA) (Capability Levels 4 and 5 not covered on purpose).
Processes defined by intacs for an Organizational Maturity Assessment (OMA) (Capability Levels 4 and 5 not covered on purpose).

If you wish to continue to the next chapter click here: